26.5

I’m turning 26.5 on Friday. Yes, I celebrate my half-birthdays (why not)!? And God has been speaking to me in so many beautiful ways recently.

Last Sunday at church, I opened up my bible exactly to 2 Chronicles 7, the exact reading for the sermon. The reading was about Solomon’s dedication of the temple.

 When all the Israelites saw the fire coming down and the glory of the Lord above the temple, they knelt on the pavement with their faces to the ground, and they worshiped and gave thanks to the Lord, saying,

“He is good;
    his love endures forever.”

As I giggled at my bible-page-turning skills I also thought to myself, “Thank you for this miracle.” 

Yesterday, I had coffee with a man who gave up a lucrative career in real estate to follow the Lord’s calling to help alleviate poverty and social injustices. He TOTALLY changed his career. What faithfulness! I sat at the coffee shop and I felt Jesus’ presence in that encounter. I thought to myself, “Thank you God, I’m thankful for this.” 

I went on a walk with my boyfriend earlier this week to the park in a neighborhood called 12 South. This was at the same neighborhood where I had my first dinner in Nashville, the place where I had my heart broken, the place where I met the love of my life… Again as we walked back home from the park I thought to myself, “God, thank you for the road that led me here.” 

I feel it in my heart. Honestly, I feel it in my throat. I feel it in the way I listen to my friends. I feel it everywhere — I feel God opening my eyes. The practice of thankfulness is opening my eyes. See, His arms have always been open wide. He longed for me all those years that “I didn’t have time for Him.” He has never left my side, I just didn’t see.

I want to shout this! I want to tell everyone that I have found this treasure and that thankfulness is changing my life. I want to tell others (aside from my best friends who read this blog) that after years and years of Catholic school and ministry, and years of knocks and darkness, that I am learning how to truly see. All of those years, filled with victories and sorrows, have led me here, to the end of myself.

At 26.5 I am celebrating the ways in which love is transforming me. It is with hope and joy that I come humbly to my Father’s altar.

 

 

Leave a Reply

